Start Spreading the News, I’m Moving Today…

Airport terminals seem to be one of the best places for reflecting, and that’s exactly what I’m doing. As I sit here waiting for my flight, I finally get to process the whirlwind that ended up with me moving from Hawaii to New York.  

The Backstory

Around a year ago, I came back home from a journalism-packed semester in D.C. After finally adapting to the huge learning curves that hit me through my internship and classes, my biggest fear was that I would lose momentum when I moved back home to finish my last year of college online. As a communications major, my classes weren’t specifically geared to journalism; so, I tried to find some local publications in Hawaii that I could intern at or do some freelance work for in order to gain more experience. Long story short, I ended up working at Starbucks (I know, that’s a random fact, but trust me, it plays a huge part later in this story). 

Besides an out-of-the-blue Q&A with Tamron Hall via Google Hangouts (another long story), I was pretty disconnected from the world of journalism, and I was all too aware of it. Getting a college degree is definitely a crucial part in this “journey to journalism,” but I felt that I should be doing more to build my portfolio, and my plans for post-grad life were getting dimmer and dimmer. That’s when New York entered the picture. 

New York or Bust

In December of last year, I got an email for a job opening in New York. It was an entry-level position and with all my school being online, I figured I could technically start working even before I graduated. After I sent that application in, I started to picture life in New York working at this place and once again being immersed in all things journalism. Another long story short, I didn’t get that job. Nor did I get a couple others I applied to after that. 

Now, I think it is important to note that I’ve never really pictured myself living in New York, but the more I applied, the more I realized that the jobs I was interested in were almost all located in New York. Little by little, the idea of living in New York grew from a possible option, to my ideal choice. But, in case you forgot, I still didn’t have a job.

Over 10 applications later, I had to make a decision. Am I going to wait for a journalism job to come to me? Or, should I just move to New York and continue my job search there? Still, I lacked two very important things: a place to live and a means of affording said “place to live.” Well, both of those things fell into place in a week.

Another long story a little shorter, I responded to a post on a public Facebook group inquiring about a place in New York that had openings for a couple roommates. Almost a week later, (still in Hawaii) I was emailing my copy of the signed lease to my future roommates and transferring to a Starbucks in New York. If it weren’t for my job at Starbucks in Hawaii, I don’t think I’d be moving to New York right now (told you it would come back into play in this story). After signing the lease, I had three weeks to pack and finish up my last undergrad semester, and now I’m here, sitting in LAX with two checked baggages, a carry-on and a backpack, about to make my move to New York. This “journey to journalism” sure has a lot of detours and unexpected twists, but I’m learning to take it one step at a time. Here’s to a new chapter in New York.

•  “It’s time to trust my instincts, close my eyes, and leap.”  •

2 responses to “Start Spreading the News, I’m Moving Today…

  • The Artist Librarian

    Wow, how exciting, Chelsea! Thanks for sharing … Looking forward to seeing what God has in store for you. ^_^

    –Jen

  • Samantha Andrade

    AHHH! This story is so amazing Chelsea! I can’t believe you are moving to NY! Wow, you never cease to amaze me with your bravery and spirit of adventure. Praying for this transition!!! Love you!
    ~Samantha 🙂

Leave a Reply

