A Journalism Student’s Thankful List (2015)

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 10.35.58 AM

Yes, I know, this year’s thankful list is a little late, and yes, it’s been a while since I posted anything here. Truth is, after a whirlwind of a semester in D.C., my journey to journalism hit a speedbump, so to speak. While I still want to be a journalist (now, more than ever), I’ve been spending most of my time finishing up my degree online and working part-time at Starbucks (more about that later).

Each year, my thankful list ends up having some sort of theme. This year, the theme revolves around all the “un-journalistic” experiences I’ve had this past semester.

Rest

Since I’m only taking a couple of classes, I have more down time. I’m also back home for now, so there’s no rent and grocery bills to worry about. I cannot wait to graduate and pursue journalism full-time; however, I’m thankful for a time of rest, where I can actually afford to be lazy without feeling too guilty.

Rejection

Yep, you read that right. This year, I’m thankful for “rejection.” Looking back, I see just how much closed doors have enabled me to pursue opportunities that I wouldn’t trade for the world. Hearing the dreaded word, “NO,” is not easy, but I’ve found that it has been necessary. For example, when I came back to Hawaii this summer, I knew I needed to get a part-time job. Since I didn’t have a car, I applied to a local lemonade store that is walking distance from my house. Unfortunately, they weren’t looking for anybody at the time I applied. In the mean time, I also sent in an application to Starbucks (I have always wanted to work there!).

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 4.52.00 PM

I got the job!

Starbucks

If I had a bucket list, working at Starbucks would be on it. So that in and of itself is something to be thankful for, but more than that, this job was exactly what I needed right now. The different demands of being a barista, from memorizing orders to connecting with customers, has developed fundamental skills that I know I will continue to rely on in the future. This job has stretched me and pulled me out of my comfort zone, and we all know, that is exactly where we learn the most. While being a barista might not directly contribute to my future in journalism, it has taught me life lessons that I know will come into play along this journey, and for that, I am very grateful.

Leave a Reply

