A Journalism Student’s Thankful List (2014)

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 3.00.56 PMIt’s a miracle guys! We made it another year, and, more importantly, I remembered to keep up my “traditional Thanksgiving blog post.” Yes, I know this is only the second one, but still, given my memory, it’s a reason to celebrate!  Anyway, last year, my list was all about people, and no matter where I go in journalism, I will always be indebted to the people who have played a role in my “journey to journalism.” But this year’s list is going to be focused more on the things that challenged me.

Technology. The world of social media has definitely challenged this analytical brain. I’ve written quite a few posts about my experience with the media and technology (glitches and all). My rants about technology aside, I am so thankful for the way that it connects people around the world. A couple months ago, I had to make a really tough decision to transfer from my university. Knowing that I could keep in touch with my friends and mentors through social media, texting, Skyping, etc. made that transition a lot easier on me.

Houston Baptist University. My time at HBU, especially as EIC of The Collegian, has stretched me and challenged me in more ways than I could’ve imagined. From having to deal with a not-so-pleasant side of my school’s administration, to “being censored,” to deadlines, to classes, every single one of my experiences at HBU have played a vital role in developing who I have become today. The challenges from my time at HBU did not always come through obstacles and trials. In fact, some of the best challenges came from professors who cared enough about students to help them realize their full potential. Looking back, I realize that both the fun challenges and the “not-so-fun challenges” were equally valuable in their own way. I am just so thankful for my time spent there. Wherever I go, HBU will always be my launching pad – the place where it all began.

Change. Even as I’m typing this, I keep asking myself, “Really? Am I really thankful for change?” And the answer, even though it may be through gritted teeth, is a resounding YES. Change is inevitable, and boy was this year marked with change for me. In the span of a week, I transferred universities, changed majors, and moved states. I’m not going to lie. It was hard, and sometimes still is. However, today I can say I am thankful for change because it opens new doors and brings about opportunities I would’ve never come across if I stayed in the same place forever. Whether it is willingly or reluctantly, we all experience change. We can’t avoid it, but what we can do is decide how we respond to it. I’ll be the first to admit, I don’t always respond well to change; however, I do know that a change in circumstances isn’t necessarily the end. In fact, it almost always proves itself to be a new beginning in disguise.

My challenge to you today is to find at least one challenge to be thankful for. It’s easy (and necessary) to rejoice about the great moments, but let’s not overlook the role that trials and obstacles play in shaping and impacting our lives. Feel free to share below; I’d love to hear how you are thankful for your challenges!

Leave a Reply

