New Role. New Chapter.

For some reason, I feel like the changes in between each semester get bigger and more drastic as my time in college progresses. A week ago, I took my last final and said “goodbye” to my third semester at Houston Baptist University, and said “hello” to the biggest journalistic opportunity I’ve had since I went to WJMC. Starting next semester, I will take on my new position as editor-in-chief of The Collegian (my university’s newspaper)!

This was definitely something that came out of the blue. I can definitely say that going into this past semester, I had no idea or even intent on becoming the editor-in-chief any time soon.

While I’m definitely excited about this position, I’m also scared…to death. Now I will have to pay closer attention to the way pages are formatted and watch out for those minor, seemingly trivial errors. For example, whether or not the way I wrote “editor-in-chief” in this post is AP Style (it probably isn’t).

My first picture as a "contributing writer" for The Collegian, a year and a half ago. I was so excited just to have this notebook (it made me feel "official").

My first picture as a “contributing writer” for The Collegian, a year and a half ago. I was so excited just to have this notebook (it made me feel “official”).

As I begin to research and look at other top ranked college newspapers, I realize that there is so much one can do, but I can’t do it all. As with most big changes in life, I’ll just have to take a deep breath and take it one step at a time. I know this sounds like I’m completely terrified of this new role (and to some extent, I am) but I am also extremely grateful. Like I said earlier, this wasn’t even something that I’d dare to dream about, yet I’ve been blessed with this amazing experience of a lifetime. That said, I know some way, somehow, I will survive (oh, and it definitely helps that my fellow editors are really supportive and fun to work with!) So, buckle in cause, next year, this journey to journalism is going to get bumpy.

Leave a Reply

