No Pictures Please!

2434203748_2cae0a95c9_nAs much as I love journalism and the excitement of the always changing news, there are some things that have been challenging me as my journalism courses progress (can’t believe it’s almost half way through this semester!).

One deterrent of this field is the fact that you can’t predict when something newsworthy is going to come up. It keeps you always on your toes. And, because journalists sometimes have to take their own videos or photos, it is not just about gathering the latest information for the story you’re writing, but now, because of the rapid development in technology, journalists have be on the look out for good photo/video opportunities.

I’ve been experiencing this first hand through working for my university’s newspaper as well as my broadcasting class (which is more like a film talking class). To be completely honest, I don’t like photography or videography except for using it solely for capturing memories for my own use. That’s why I have developed a great respect for photographers because you always have to be on the look out for the best shot.

In what little exposure I’ve had to photography this semester, I know that I don’t want to do that for the rest of my life. As silly as this may sound, the main reason why I don’t like having to take pictures and videos is that I just want to have fun. On a personal level, I’ve been learning the importance of living in the moment and being in the now. When I have video assignments or I have to take pictures for the paper, it changes my whole perspective. Instead of just having fun or really experiencing the event or just everyday life, I’m constantly thinking: “Should I be taking pictures now?” “Should I bring my camera just in case…?”

This constant worry of not wanting to miss out on an opportunity to get a good picture has really been getting to me this semester. Not to mention cameras are bulky, and Houston weather is so unpredictable (one time, I was stuck in the library with an expensive camera that wasn’t mine, because it just decided to go from sunny and beautiful to pouring and camera-ruining weather).

Here’s a little snipet of what goes through my head thanks to having to take on the role as “cameraman”: “Should I bring my camera with me? What if it rains? My camera might get damaged, but then again, I might miss out on a great shot. Is something ‘picture-worthy’ going to happen? Can I stop taking pictures now and just enjoy the event?…My life!”

Rant aside, learning about photography is very useful and there are some perks (like getting a press pass to go behind the scenes), but I know for sure that that is not something I could do for the rest of my life.

Thank you photographers and cameramen, it takes a lot of skill, patience, and talent to do what you do!

Leave a Reply

