From 0 to 60 mph

Lately, or more like, for the past two years, I haven’t been consistent with blogging. I initially started this for a journalism conference I attended back in 2011 (read my posts about it here). In addition to this, I didn’t take any journalism classes in my freshman year. While I wrote a few articles for my university’s newspaper, the Collegian, there really wasn’t much going on that I thought was relevant to my “journey to journalism.” To be honest, I thought that I would not have much to post about throughout my time here in college; however, upper-level classes completely debunked that silly idea.

I’m actually posting this partially as an assignment for one of my journalism classes in which I’ve been learning about the world of “convergent journalism.” Between this class, my public relations class, and my broadcasting class I have learned that 1) there is a lot more to journalism than I thought and 2) this semester is going to be crazy. It seems as if these classes including my new position as the assistant news editor for the Collegian, has launched me head first into all the deadlines, improv, and sleepless nights that is the world of journalism.

This brings me to the one aspect of journalism that I find both amazingly unique and terrifyingly overwhelming. With the rapid evolution in technology and the way in which we communicate, journalists have had to learn to take on many different roles. Just within my first “deadline” (the week leading up to the publication of a new issue for the Collegian) I’ve had to take photos, edit, and attempt to use InDesign. By the end of this semester, I will have to produce a short film, blog, report, interview, manage a public relations campaign, take pictures, and whatever else pops up along the way. That’s what I love so much about this major. From getting to interview people from different backgrounds to learning how to use various types of media, there is so much to learn and experience. At the same time, it is quite daunting, especially for someone like me who doesn’t know aperture from shutter speed (that’s photography speak for my fellow non-photographers).

I honestly have no idea what to expect from this new semester, but whatever happens it will all be recorded on here. Melt downs, victories, and many cups of coffee. Join me as my “journey to journalism” picks up again, full speed ahead.

2 responses to “From 0 to 60 mph

Leave a Reply

