Checkmate

Two things before I start:

1. Yes, I am still alive. I know it has probably been over a year since I last posted on here, but I have been super busy with my first year of college and frankly, besides the fact that with each day I am one step closer to getting my degree, there really isn’t much to update on my “journey to journalism.” It’s just in the “getting the degree” phase, and will be that for the next 2-3 years.

2. This post is going to have absolutely nothing to do with journalism. So, if you were expecting one, save your time, and go read the news or something ;P I wanted to just post something about what I’ve been learning on a personal/spiritual level. I really considered making another blog for this kind of stuff but being that I hardly keep up with this one, adding another didn’t seem like a very logical idea at the moment. So, move aside journalism and make some room for “life lessons.”

With that long introduction out of the way, have you ever seen that Pixar Short with the old man playing chess against himself? At the end, there is only one piece left on one side–the king. Each time he tries to move his king, his opponent (a.k.a. himself) says “nah-uh.” He tries to move it in a different direction and his opponent again shakes his head in disapproval. No matter where he goes, he’s trapped.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t necessarily feel trapped, but I have gotten to the part of “the game” where I think I know what move to make. I grab my piece, and just as I’m about to move it, that “nah-uh” pops up and I find myself back at square one. That “nah-uh” keeps me from making the wrong decisions and humbles me at the same time. (As nice as “humility” sounds, trust me, being humbled is not the best feeling in the world.)

For so long, I thought I was playing this game, called life, and winning at it. Sure, I’m not the smartest, prettiest, or wealthiest, but God has put some amazing opportunities in my life and I thought I was doing quite fine. In the process, however, I got a “wee bit” too confident in my own capabilities and started to develop a prideful, self-centered mindset. Now, God is trying to break me from it. I keep stepping out on my own thinking, “This is the best move for me,” but God steps in and says, “Nah-uh, that’s not My plan for you.” Every time I try to step out on my own power and for my own motives, something comes up and then I am reminded of the sobering fact that I cannot do it all, and the world does not revolve around me. In a sense then, I have crowned myself “king” of my life, but now that king is being knocked down, and it’s time to start over with a new King in control. Then, I can make my next move, and I guess we’ll see where that takes me.

With that said, I hope you and your families have a Happy Easter! If you can relate to the season of life I’m going through, remember, yeah, you can’t do everything you want to. There may be things in your own power that you really can’t pull off, but by God’s grace, there is a “restart” option. There is a chance at a new game where the King will never be knocked down.

[P.S. My apologies for the bad grammar and rambling, I just wanted to jot this down and post it before I forgot about it.]

Leave a Reply

