WJMC: Day 4 (C-SPAN, Smithsonian Museums, Dean Flagel, and Thoughts)

Surprisingly, I don’t have much to say about today (watch this turn into a 7 page essay). I’ll just kind of go over the main highlights of today:

  • C-Span: We had to wake up super early so we could drive to the George Mason campus in Arlington to be the live audience on two shows (Washington Journal and Q&A). In both recordings, the WJMC students got to ask questions to the guests and also took answers from the hosts. This was definitely a first, and the students that took the mic to speak (LIVE) never failed to amaze me with their confident and intelligent comments/questions.
  • Smithsonian Museums: At lunch time, we were dropped off in front of the Air and Space Museum and were free to visit any of the Smithsonian Museums on our own. Unfortunately, I thought the museum that I really wanted to go to (National Museum of American History) was too far to go and come back in the time we were given, so I stayed in the Air and Space Museum. That was both a good thing and a bad thing. I misjudged the amount of time I had and although the Air and Space Museum has SO much exhibits, airplanes and space shuttles aren’t “my thing.” It was good because right about when everyone was walking back to the Air and Space Museum for the buses to pick us up, it started to pour. So many people came in drenched from head-to-toe, and we still had about 40 minutes left before the buses were to come. Basically, we were rained in and stuck in the Air and Space Museum. People were sitting on the floor everywhere! It looked like an airport terminal when all the flights are delayed.
  • Dean Flagel: Dr. Andrew Flagel, the Dean of Admissions at George Mason University, spoke to us about the various things to consider when applying for college. As tired as I was (he was the last speaker of the day) he captured my attention and held it for the entire time. He spoke to us in a very casual and up front manner and gave us a different approach to applying for and picking our future college. I won’t list everything he said ’cause this post is already getting lengthy (told ya it was going to be a 7 page essay) but it was very non-traditional and real. On top of that, he is hilarious and kept us laughing pretty much the entire time.
  • Thoughts: This experience thus far has been far from what I expected. It has been a roller coaster ride in the sense that my perspectives, inspiration, motive (and energy) keep fluctuating. To say the least, this has been more of an eye-opener to me than anything else. I came here thinking it was going to be a fun and exciting week that would just make me fall in love with journalism and give me “everything” I need to succeed in this field. Please don’t get me wrong, this has been fun and exciting, but at the same time, one moment I hear something from a speaker and I’m like, “Yes, I can’t wait to do this. I will go far and it all makes sense to me now.” The very next session I could come out feeling, “Of course I still want to do this, but this is really overwhelming right now and I don’t know if I have what it takes to do this.” Now, when I say, “I don’t know if I have what it takes,” I’m not really talking about skill and drive because I have learned this week that if you really want it, you’ll get it. What I’m talking about are the things that these journalists go through and how they’re built. It’s really hard to explain. All you need to know is that my perspectives of this occupations has definitely been challenged and it has given me a lot of things to consider.
One response to “WJMC: Day 4 (C-SPAN, Smithsonian Museums, Dean Flagel, and Thoughts)

  • Ryan M

    Well, I don’t think it was SEVEN pages……. šŸ˜‰
    And don’t get overwhelmed with it all yet – you still have years before you would be completely immersed in the field of journalism! At this point, just keep soaking up knowledge, and learning from events like these. Trust me, based on the motivation and excitement levels I’ve seen in these posts, you’ll get along just fine as a journalist. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

