WJMC: Day 3 (National Press Club, Hoda Kotb, Media, Humidity and Chaos)

I have mixed emotions about today. On the positive side, I got to experience so many amazing opportunities that have definitely shaped me more as an aspiring journalists. We heard from panels of speakers who have excelled in a wide variety of media from entertainment news to political news to public relations. It was a great way to get a little taste of what types of media are out there and the many types of jobs and experiences you can have as a journalist. Also, all the speakers had interesting insight on how journalism has changed and how influential social media is in this industry. Last, but not least, we got to go to the National Press Club, which is a private club for those in the journalism and communication field. While we were there, we had key note speaker, Hoda Kotb, come and speak to us, and she. was. the. best. I don’t think there was a single person in that room that didn’t fall in love with her. Hoda’s personality is so likable and she was just so real, open, and encouraging. There wasn’t even a split second of a dull moment when she was speaking.

The National Press Club building

Like I said, I had mixed emotions, so that means there was also a not so positive side to today.  A lot of it had to do with the lack of time that we had every where we went. Transitioning from one place to another was really hectic and by the end of the day I was exhausted and tired of being yelled at. This is probably due to the lack of sleep, but I really felt that even though we followed the directions, no matter what we did, we were always in the wrong place or not moving fast enough. In addition to that, we didn’t get much time to take pictures and meet with the speakers. As soon as they were done we had a little time and then we were rushed out and off to the next session. I understood that we were on a tight schedule and the speakers have busy schedules of their own too, but it was just really stressful and chaotic. I kind of got a “picture with Hoda,” IF you can even call it that. Now that I look back on it, it just makes me laugh, but hey, its proof that I saw Hoda, right? To top it all off, we had the moonlight monument tour which was really beautiful but it was extremely hot and we were all tired. In fact, we skipped the Jefferson Memorial because it was just too late and let me tell you, there was not one complaint about going straight back to the dorms.

My "picture with Hoda" (I'm uploading this in hopes to share the laughs that I get everytime I see this and think of how desperate I was to just get one picture with Hoda. I can laugh about it now but I was on a mission then! ;))

Even though that last paragraph was far from optimistic, I am truly enjoying this week. I think the lack of sleep and sore feet are really getting to me. We got back at 11 p.m. and we have to be at breakfast tomorrow morning at 6 a.m. As I’m typing this, it is 12:21 a.m. and I still need to shower and get ready for bed. Yikes.

One response to “WJMC: Day 3 (National Press Club, Hoda Kotb, Media, Humidity and Chaos)

Leave a Reply

